Running the Royal Parks

So, it’s been a quiet couple of weeks again. The highlight of it before today was last weekends 18 miler! This itself went pretty well, as well as running 18 miles can be I guess!!

However, this weekend saw me head off to London for the Royal Parks Half Marathon. I headed up to the big smoke yesterday and in true running style spent the evening pigging out on all the yummy carbs I could get my hand on! 

My first ever wooden finishers medal

I woke up this morning feeling spritely at about 6:45. I headed off with Jodie and co at about 7:30 after we had found some hot water for our porridge (the hotel had no kettles and the hot water machine was broken)! 

Me being me, half way on the walk to Hyde Park I decided to check my watch while forgetting I had my porridge in the same hand! This resulted in half of my breakfast ending up on the pavement- not the best start to the day!! 

A beautiful London morning!

Luckily, things got better after that. We got to a lovely, chilly and sunny Hyde Park in plenty of time, took a few snaps and had a warm up! I then headed off to the start, my wave being the first one right at the front of the pack with the quick guys- HELP!!!

We set off and within a mile I found my pace and took in the first of the many sights, Buckingham Palace. It truly looks beautiful this morning, as did Big Ben and Trafalgar Square! 

The support was amazing all the way round, especially at mile 6 when we re-entered Hyde Park. I had my name on my Stroke Association vest so hundreds of people cheered me on, this was such an amazing feeling and definitely kept me going! 

The miles around the park were pretty and eventually we got to the Royal Albert Hall just 800m from the finish!! I came across the line in 1:31.39 which I was ecstatic about! For those that follow my running, you’ll know I’ve got Valencia Marathon in 6 weeks, this has given me a barrel of confidence to run a decent time there now. 

My Royal Parks squad- Jodie & Nik

I collected my medal- a wooden one for the first time ever then we headed off to Ask Italian for lunch and a huge pizza and chips! We then headed home and I’ve just had a bath to soak my aching limbs.

Today was a special day for me as it was the final part of the hatrick of big London races taking in The Mall & Buckingham Palace this year (after London Marathon and the Vitality 10,000). I’ll definitely be returning to the Royal Parks Half next year and hopefully London Marathon too,  I’m now nervous for the ballot results coming out this week. 

It’s now only 2 weeks to my final long run at the Chelmsford Marathon, I may post before then but if not I’ll report back on progress after that! 

Until next time, 

Happy running!! 

Leave a comment